6660ce1811b69d4cf3548577 Tdwmgk Vsg Webinar 1300x565 1

True VSG - beyond droop control for microgrids and more

July 16, 2024
Discover the evolution of grid frequency management in our upcoming webinar. Harnessing the power of a high-speed controller and battery energy storage, our innovative approach achieves precise isochronous control, ensuring stability even amidst multiple generating assets. Join us as we unveil real-world applications of this groundbreaking virtual synchronous generator (VSG) + battery solution for micro and macro grids.

July 16, 2024
2:00 PM ET / 1:00 PM CT / 11:00 AM PT / 7:00 PM BST
 
Duration: 1 hour
Already registered? Click here to log in. 

Summary

When it comes to managing grid frequency, droop control has been an effective strategy for coordinating multiple generating assets for decades. However, droop control allows frequency to waffle within what operators deem an acceptable range, which might not be acceptable to customers operating expensive, sensitive equipment.

Holding grid frequency at a specific and precise level can be achieved through an isochronous control approach. But when multiple generators connected in parallel are controlled through an isochronous approach, things can get out of synch quickly as each generator competes with the others to respond to a frequency deviation first.

Enter the new method of frequency control, which matches a high-speed controller with a battery energy storage system. This dynamic duo combines the speed of the controller with the instantly dispatchable energy of the battery to achieve isochronous control even with multiple connected generating units.

The result is the best of both worlds—the battery keeps grid frequency stable during normal operating conditions while enabling other resources like fossil fuel-powered generators or inverter-based DERs to kick in if there’s a major disruption beyond the battery’s scope. 

This webinar shows how a true virtual synchronous generator (VSG) + battery solution comes together and has been proven in real-world scenarios that apply to micro and macro grids alike.  

Speakers

Tim Allen 
CEO 
PXiSE Energy Solutions


As CEO, Tim Allen is focused on honing PXiSE’s strategic direction, growing and developing the organization, and strengthening partnerships. Tim brings more than 22 years of experience across utility-scale solar, wind and energy storage projects, software controls, investor-owned utility, independent power producer and pure developer realms. His unique set of skills, beginning with an Electrical Engineering degree from CalPoly, San Luis Obispo, CA, offers seasoned perspectives and relationships positioning him perfectly to lead PXiSE into the future. During his tenure at PXiSE as COO, Tim offered guidance and expertise as PXiSE readied to become a global leader.   

Sponsored by: